Lessons From Lit- Say I Love You

Image result for picture of a heart in the sandThis is a different, shorter, post, but I was thinking.  (Always a dangerous pastime)  So, I was writing a scene for my book, and it sort of hit me deeper than before.  The character really wishes that she had been able to say “I love you” one last time before she can’t anymore.  She wishes she said that she was sorry for the things she has done.  She wishes a lot of things.  

I know people tell you to say “I love you” a lot because who knows if you’ll ever see them again, but there’s truth to that.

When I write, I get very connected to my characters.  They start to become a part of me.  I know how they act, think, talk, and feel.  All of them wish that they had said “I love you” before it was too late.  All of them wish that they could have said “good bye” first.

Image result for hobbit holeIn Lord of the Rings, when Gandalf meets Frodo with the ring in Bilbo’s hobbit hole, Frodo wonders why Bilbo never said goodbye.  He left, without telling his nephew, for one last adventure.  While a different perspective on the matter, I believe it still has meaning.

Say “I love you,” and often.  You never know when it may be your last chance to say it.

One thought on “Lessons From Lit- Say I Love You

Thoughts?

