Babysitting the Hacker- A Crazy Short Story

Adobe Spark babysit

“Where did you learn to break into a lock?  You’re eight years old!” 

That, my friends, is a start of an epic story.  We have all these crime-fighting kids in books and movies, but really, how many eight year olds are going to be on the streets by themselves while working?  It’s crazy.  Someone has to babysit.  

So of course you’ll click the button, right? —->>>

“Where did you learn to break into a lock?  You’re eight years old!” 

“Since when did you start hiring eight year olds to work for undercover operations?”

It was a good point.  Still, it drove me crazy to try and keep her safe.  “First of all, I did not hire you.  Why HR decided to let an eight year old in is beyond me.  Don’t shove that on me.”

“Google helped.” 

“Pardon?”  I asked.

Her curly mop of brown hair bounced.  “That’s how I learned to pick locks.”

I rolled my eyes.  “You? On Google?  Is that even safe?”  I was more worried for the company than her.

“It’s okay.  I only hacked into their system twice.  The lady who spoke to me said that I couldn’t do that anymore, unless they asked.”

“How does an eight year old even learn to hack?”

Truth was, no one knew.  Lavender, a child genius, ended up on our doorstep.  She was one of the best, even before training.  But she was eight.  Therefore, I was tasked with the job of babysitting a scary-smart, little ninja of a girl.  Things got a little crazy sometimes.  Actually, a lot of times.

She rolled her eyes and put a hand on her hip.  “Do you want the lock picked or not?”  She huffed.  She almost seemed like a mini teenager.

“Go ahead.”  I sighed, leaning against the building while she fiddled with the lock.

The lock finally clicked open, and she gave me a triumphant grin.  “Ha.”

“Onward and upward.”

Office buildings at night are scary.  I mean, I wouldn’t admit it, but the lights are all on, no one is there, you here the occasional whir of some machine… 

Once we got inside, I led Lavender to the main computer system.  She instantly sat in the swivel chair, and spun around a few times.  Kids will be kids.

She calmed herself down, and powered on the computer.  She entered in a string of letters and numbers into the password box.  The computer blinked to life.  It seemed to look confused, as if it was wondering why someone was using it at two am.  I in turn was wondering how much longer it would take, and the probability of us getting out safely.

Lavender’s voice startled me out of my sleepy musings.  “Hey, Chase, how do you spell ‘classified?'”

I spelled it out for her.  She ran some search on the computer, and found the documents we were looking for.  “Bingo!”  She yelled.  In a slightly quieter voice she said, “This girl has it.”

“Alright, let’s go.  Copy them onto the flash drive, and we’re outta here.”  I checked the ticking wall clock.  Just past two twenty.

She started to download the files to the stick, when a blinking red box appeared on the screen.

“Blithering blazes.” I muttered.  I had to watch my language around the kid.  It was often hilarious to see the others, hard-core men, try to watch their sailor mouths around the little kid. 

“Should I install Ah-dohb?”  She tried to sound it out.

“No, just close the pop up.”  I said impatiently.

She clicked on the box.  It didn’t go away.  She clicked the red x twenty more times. 

“Okay, okay, just download it.”

She clicked the button, and a gray bar popped up.  Installing. 1%.  Estimated time remaining: 23 minutes.

For the next half hour, we waited in the white office for the crazy Adobe program to finish.  At last, the little bar summoned its energy and pushed to the one hundred percent mark.

Lavender hurriedly finished adding the files, and turned the computer off.  She hopped off the swivel chair, and turned to leave.  Running smack into a man blocking the door to the room.

I tried to think of a good excuse, and the best way out of the situation, but when you’re caught at 3 a.m. with a little drive that has multiple secret files… Let’s just say it doesn’t look pretty.

“Run!”  I yelled, though it wasn’t really necessary. I pushed the man aside, and Lavender and I raced down the cubicle filled rooms.  I could hear him behind us.  I urged Lavender, who was in front of me, faster, and we darted for the stairs.  I threw open the door, and started taking the stairs two at a time.  Lavender tripped.  I scooped her up, and started running again. 

We ran into the lobby, and I slammed into the door to freedom.

It was locked.  I wrung out my arm, and peered towards the stairs.  I could hear a racket above.

“Lavender,” I hissed, “Open the door.”

She ran to the computer behind the desk, and punched in another code.  I heard a faint click, and we dashed out the door, and into the night air.

Around the corner, a black car was waiting for us.  I climbed in, slammed the door, and looked at Lavender.  “That was close.”

“I think the ah-duhb thing was a trap.”

“You tell me now.”

“Well, sorry.”  She said.

“At least you got the files.”  I said.

She patted her pocket, and looked up at me with wide eyes.  “Actually, I think I left it there.”

I groaned.  “We’ll have to go back another night.”

“But I did get this.”

I didn’t even bother to look.  “Lavender, petty theft isn’t going to help.”

“But look.”

I reluctantly looked, and started in surprise.

“I got this other flash drive that was behind the counter.  I think it has the files you’re looking for.”

I yawned.  “Okay then, mission successful.  Next time, Walter’s taking you.”

“But I like you better.”

I cracked a half-smile.  “Yeah?”

But she had already fallen asleep.


Well, not as deep or sad as my other stories, but I figured it was time for some lightheartedness.  Whaddya think?  This may become a series of shorts, but who knows.

9 thoughts on “Babysitting the Hacker- A Crazy Short Story

  1. Pingback: A Nod at other Bloggers | Reflections on Glass

  2. Awesome! I loved it.
    I only had one question. How does an eight year old girl who knows how to hack and pick locks and is practically self-taught not know how to spell classified and say Adobe? The Adobe part I can kind of understand, but she ought to have been able to spell classified, especially if she was a hacker. I thought the mispronouncing of Adobe super adorable, though. It really helps bring it home that this is a little girl doing a dangerous mission.
    Actually, I have a second question. Why was the man, whom I presume was a guard, not shooting at them? Was he sleepy too?
    Loved it. To be honest, I don’t really want to read anymore of this story. It seems complete somehow. Like if it went any farther, you might see the child get killed, and I hate it when children die, especially when they are so adorable. 🙂
    God bless and keep you!

    Bethia Lark

    Like

  3. Pingback: A Shot in the Dark– Flash Fiction | The Artful Author

Thoughts?

