Rebellious Writing

Maybe you’ve seen a few posts and stuff with the hashtag RebelliousWriting.  When I found out what it was, I jumped on the bandwagon.  I’m not usually one to do stuff like this, but I emphasize with the message.  

So, Aster, now that you’ve rambled on for a few sentences, what is Rebellious Writing?

It’s a movement started by Gray from graymariewrites. Since she put it so eloquently, I’ll just paste what she wrote.

#RebelliousWriting is a movement that demands for wholesome books. Books that are full of light, good morals, family, friendships, and adventures, instead of books full of darkness, swearing, sex, vile relationships, and lust. Let’s rebel against the social book standards that scream at us to fit in, in order to be cool or relevant.

Yes, yes yes!  I agree wholeheartedly.


A Rant About YA and My Reading Journey

Let’s back way back to when I was in second grade.  At that point, I loved Little House on the Prairie, Because of Winn Dixie, Chronicles of Narnia, Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh, historical fiction, biographies, anything.

Come middle school, and I realized that my reading pile was dwindling severely.  My mother helped me find books, and would spend a long time in the library trying to find clean books for me.  She’d come back with only a few, and I’d read them in a day or two.  (I read every moment I had.  I mean, I read a book a day practically.)

In sixth grade, I rarely read at all.  There were no good books.  I tried moving to the YA section thinking there might be better books there.  (Ha, that was a brilliant idea.  not.)  My mom found a book for me that was biblical YA fiction.  And there were some excessive love scenes, glorifying of evil, and anti-Christian messages.  I still remember them, and the bad message that book delivered.

About seventh grade I moved to the adult section.  There it was slightly better, if not hard to find things that I liked.  I read Ben Carson’s autobiography, classics, and whatever clean inspirational novel my mom liked.  But it was still hard.  

There was one year where I read my mom and dad’s old college textbooks because there was nothing else to read.  I’d reread all my other books, and had given up on YA and Adult.  (I did learn a good deal of psychology and business, so I guess that was a silver lining.)

In eighth/ninth I started finding my own books to read.  It became a little easier after I discovered the whole branch of fiction written by Christians.  (Especially indie.)  I started reading again because I found great books like the Ilyon Chronicles, Dreamtreaders, Dragons in our Midst, and others.  

But I still rarely go to the library. The library provides popular books to the general public to borrow.  Not necessarily clean.

Of course, there is some good books that are clean and mainstream.  Books like Percy Jackson, The Princess Bride, The Ranger’s Apprentice, Storybound, The Book Thief, The Giver, To Kill A Mockingbird, and others.  It’s just hard to find them underneath all the piles of not-so-clean YA and Adult stuff.

Can we read other things besides clean books?  

yes.  But is it the best thing for you to be putting media into your brain that you can never take out?  Swearing, glorifying evil, sex, and a whole host of other things are put into books these days, but it doesn’t add anything to them.  Some people might like it, but it cheapens the product for me.

Instead of reading about positive things and books with great themes, I find books all the time with things that I don’t even want to hear about.  

That’s not to say that all books should be cotton-candy marshmallow clouds of sugary fakeness, but I don’t want to be reading stuff that’s dirty.  Life has evil stuff in it.  Life has hard stuff in it.  Some of that needs to be in books because otherwise it’ll be fake sounding.  But we don’t need to glorify it.

It’s a easy change. Instead of putting something like “!#$@#%#$Y%^#” he exclaimed.

Put something like this: He cursed under his breath.  

Dirty stuff shouldn’t be in YA books, or even MG books.  (Or even Adult books.)  But the change won’t happen if no one does anything about it.  

Found on Audrey Calin’s blog

Let’s write more clean, wholesome, fun, fist clenching up-till-three-am books.  Let’s write subplots with wholesome, cute romance.  Let’s write books that weave themes of courage, true beauty, and hope into an amazing story.

If you’re a reader, write reviews on amazon about clean books.  Often, reviews inspire potential buyer’s interest.  Recommend great books to your friends.

And regardless of who you are, you can write a post, make a tweet, Instagram, whatever, with #RebelliousWriting.  

I’m not naive enough to say that all will be clean and happy in la la land.  (The theoretical place, not the movie.)  But, we can get worthwhile books into our libraries, our homes, and to the general public.  


That was a pretty long post.  If you agree, please pass it on! 🙂

-Aster

11 thoughts on “Rebellious Writing

  1. Howdy friend!!! Have you hear of books from JourneyForth? Some are kind of corny :), but others are REALLY good!!! I enjoyed “Gunner’s Run” by Rick Barry. It’s exciting, with some funny, and it’s clean and is “christian.” I don’t read as much as I should, because it really is hard to find clean, exciting books that aren’t corny.
    The #rebelliouswriting kind of reminds me of the Rebelution. Have you ever heard of it?
    Have a happy day!!!
    Maddie

    Like

  2. Yay! Another Rebellious Writer! Welcome to the group! *high-fives and that cotton candy you mentioned* Your story sounds SO similar to my own! I almost quit reading because of all the nasty stuff out there (though Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh is still one of my favorites, tbh XD). I’ll have to check out some of those series you mentioned. *goes to look them up*

    Awesome post! < 3

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh, I remember Mrs Frisby, I read that very many years ago. 😀 I went through exactly the same thing when I was younger, thankfully i’m beginning to find new, good books. and i agree with everything you’ve said. We DO need books that are realistic and show that the world is not completely pure, but there is so much unnecessary violence, lust and swearing, sometimes even in “Christian” books. It makes me so sad. Hopefully our generation will change that! God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just found your blog! It’s always a pleasant surprise to stumble upon another Rebellious Writer, thanks for joining!!!

    By the way, have you read Terri Blackstock’s works? She’s a very good Christian adult author.

    -Gray Marie
    graymariewrites.blogspot.com

    Like

  5. Welcome to the Rebellion, Aster! I’m excited to announce that the #RebelliousWriting movement is getting it’s own website and blog, which will be released on August 9, 2017. In the meantime, please feel free to follow our social media profiles:

    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Rebellious-Writing-2360060864218353/
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/WriteRebellious
    Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/rebelliouswriting/
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rebelliouswriting/?hl=en
    Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/114959755765537963485

    Let’s clean this mess up!

    Fellow Rebel

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

