July Wrap Up (and llamas)

july wrap up

So instead of having these weird update posts at random times, I’m going to do a monthly wrap up/update posts.  Doesn’t that sound nice.  So people will actually read these things, I’ll try to keep it interesting and give mini reviews of stuff, or interesting blog posts I’ve seen, music I’ve been listening to, etc.  🙂  

July meant Camp NaNoWriMo.  I meant to write more, but ended up adjusting my goal because we had company for two weeks, and my birthday (yay), a beach trip, and general craziness.

But, I wrote all of my 15,000 word goal, and seized the victory today at 5 o’clock!  Considering everything that was happening, I think I did well. 🙂  I was up until past one many nights trying to get another thousand words!

What I’ve been doing all month:  Vacationing. I took a little break this month, which was really nice.  I started math last week, and I’m trying to prepare for everything starting up in August.  (Really, it seems like they move the start date of school farther and farther into the summer every year!)

We took a little mini vacation, and one of the places we stopped at was this place call Lazy Five Ranch.  You drive around with food in your car and feed all these animals.  Water Buffalo, llamas, pot bellied pigs, ostriches, giraffes, emus, and lots more.  It’s rather hilarious.

giraffe

I call this shot, The connection between man and giraffe.  (Or, my cousin feeding a giraffe through a sunroof.)  Sorry it’s so grainy.  I took this on my phone, through the back of car that we tinted ourselves.  NEVER diy window tinting.  It will look awful.

llama

Give me food, or I give you llama spit.

water buffalo lazy 5 ranch

Water Buffalo  Just Chilling

Odd/embarrassing things I’ve done this month:  So I was at Home Depot, and they had these pvc pre-cut pipes.  They did look a bit like quarter staffs.  So, of course, I had to do a fight scene by myself in the middle of a Home Depot aisle.  I got a slightly odd look from an employee who passed me.

What I’ve been writing:  My WIP.  I originally wanted to finish it this month, but that wasn’t going to happen, so next month is my new goal.

What I’ve been reading: The Lost Girl of Astor Street by Stephanie Morrill, Heartless by Marissa Meyer, Scarlet also by Marissa Meyer, Caraval by Stephanie Garber, The Blades of Acktar by Trisha Mingerink, and The Rumpelstiltskin Problem by Vivian Vande Velde.

What I wrote this month: 

Slightly Strange Writing Prompts

Writing a Villain as Your Protagonist

#Hello2017.5

30 Song Challenge

And that sums July up!  I hope ya’ll had an awesome July!!! 😀

 

3 thoughts on “July Wrap Up (and llamas)

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award | The Artful Author

    • I guess I could’ve pretended it was a didgeridoo too, but, alas, I didn’t think of that at the time.
      *dumps glitter everywhere* YAY Camp Nano! I’m still recovering from that. I think I pulled too many late nights that last week. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

