7777 Writing Tag

7777 tag

I actually just finished my first draft of Black Moon Academy a few weeks ago, and got it printed out on Monday to start editing in depth.  *celebration*  Soo, this tag was a fun tag to do.  Thank you R.M. Archer for tagging me. 🙂

Quick Summary: School for villains.  MC, Scarlet, is going to the school for her mom, but isn’t much of a villain.  Then the hero school and the villain school start clashing, and war is imminent.  Also *swords* *magic* *cloaks* *carrots*

book.PNG
look at this glorious mess (it’s a big mess, but it’s mine)

Le Rules:

  1. Open WIP to the seventh page
  2. Scroll past the seventh line
  3. Copy the next seven paragraphs…. and paste them on your blog for THE WORLD to read
  4. Tag seven people!

It needs a good bit of editing (it’s called a work in progress for a reason), and it’s a bit info-dumpy.  But here we go:

Three rows of long wooden tables sat on the floor, and two large chandeliers hung from the rafters.  The light coming from the chandeliers was some sort of wizardry—small yellow orbs were floating in place where candles would be normally.  Everything was hushed—no talking was allowed.  Large black, red, and white tapestries hung on the walls, extensively detailed with moons and war.  At the far end of the room, there was a long wooden stage, elevated a couple of feet above the floor. 

I walked away from Lorelei towards a seat the end of the middle table, where a few other students were sitting.  Lorelei glared at me, and pointed to the far table.  I frowned, but followed her.  There were more people at this table, mostly sitting quietly.  Some were trying to whisper quietly to each other.  Lorelei sat in a wooden chair near the end of the table.  When I sat down next to her, I saw that she had a small paper pad and a pen in her lap.  Middle table for upper-class students.  You’re not allowed to sit there.  Other table for wizards.  She started to write something else, but servers came in with food on trays and set them on each table, forcing Lorelei to hide the writing.  Everyone who worked at Black Moon was also female, from what I had seen.  The food was simple, but hearty enough.  They were raising villains to fight, not to grow spoiled.  After I had finished eating, the woman who had greeted me earlier climbed the stairs to the stage.  She waited for a moment, until everyone was staring at her, and began talking.

“Welcome everyone.  I am the headmistress at Black Moon Academy.  New arrivals are coming in every day, and we are all very pleased to see you taking initiative in your future.  Classes start on Monday, so please check your syllabuses, and make sure you know where you’re going.  Until then, you are welcome to tour the classrooms, and explore the grounds, as long as you do not go into the exotic animal room, as we had a small technical issue.”

Lorelei scribbled on her pad.  Baby hydra escaped.  I decided I would stay far away from that room.

“Also, there is an invisibility cloak surrounding the entire school.  This can act as a barrier.  No one can get in, but now you cannot leave unless you have permission from me or another teacher.  It can be a little violent sometimes, so please do not try to escape.  We, and most of your parents, believe you will thrive here, so we will not tolerate deserters.”

Lorelei wrote on the paper again.  True.  I didn’t want to know what had happened.

“There are no other announcements at this time.  If you have questions, you may ask them now.”  The headmistress looked over the dining room.


Basically it’s the welcoming speech for all the villains/wizards of the school.

And because 70 is just a 7 with an extra number, I did it there too. (Hey, R. M. Archer did it, so I can too.)

“Scarlet,” she said sharply.  “You know why I’m here.  Can’t ever give it up.”  She smiled sadly at me, and her tone softened.  “It’s always following me.  Some want to watch the world burn.  Some want to make it burn.  I can’t help it.” 

Sigh.. I love my villain but she doesn’t show up enough… Something I will have to fix along with numerous other edits.

The rest of the page was too confusing out of context, so that’s all you get. 😛


I nominate:

Wysteria at headintheclouds913.wordpress.com

Cas at castlearchive.wordpress.com

Chelsea at anordinarypen.wordpress.com

  • and anyone else who is working on a draft of a story

It is getting to the point where it is unbearably hot, and therefore impossible to be comfortable outside for long periods of time.  All the more time to spend indoors editing.

Good luck trying to stay cool this week.

-a person who (if reincarnation was a thing) was probably a penguin in her past life.

9 thoughts on “7777 Writing Tag

Add yours

  1. Pingback: 7777
  2. I love the snippet you shared! A school for villains sounds really fun and unique (and great for redemption arcs, which are my favourites!)
    I’ll try to get around to this tag sometime in the next century (which sounds really ungrateful because I’ve been wanting to get tagged for this for….goodness knows how long!) Thanks 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooooooh, cool concept! I like it! *nodnod* That sounds like an interesting read. (At least, I’d read it.)
    And right now staying cool is noooooo problem for me, but then again, southern hemisphere. xD

    Like

  4. Your story and worldbuilding seem really cool! I look forward to reading Black Moon Academy when it’s finished. 🙂 Good luck with your edits!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑